Review- Ocean of Melancholy by Mir Mosharraf Hossain

Ocean of Melancholy by Mir Mosharraf Hossain

Ocean of Melancholy is a tragic historical fiction with mythical elements in it. The original book Bishad Sindhu written by Bangladeshi author Mir Mosharraf Hussain doesn’t need any introduction. It’s written in an effortlessly simple language so that readers can easily understand what actually happened in Karbala.

Alo Shome has done a fantastic job translating this masterpiece. Just like the original text she has kept the language precise and uncomplicated. The plot is dramatic and has a supernatural undertone to it. Also the story is so gripping that I was unable to put it down hence I finished it on a plane ride (kept my aviophobia at bay😏)

We all know that Muharram is a day of mourning and Prophet Muhammad’s grandsons, Hussain and Hassan were exterminated on this day by their enemy Yazid. But the book is written in a way that every chapter had a profound effect on me. While reading it never felt that I’m reading about a historical event. Rather my heart went out for all those who were martyred in Karbala. The footnotes added by Alo Shome made it easy for me to understand the historical and religious facts. I’ll definitely recommend this book to all those readers who want to understand what actually happened in Karbala and why?

Rating- 4/5

If you like this post, please share it with your friends. Also do not forget to follow me on Twitter and Instagram. I share my book related thoughts there.

Link to buy- Paperback I Kindle

Leave a comment